- The Number: 60% or Better
- What 60% Does and Doesn't Tell You
- Exam Format at a Glance
- The Four Content Areas You'll Be Scored On
- What ECFC Hasn't Published
- The Path to the Exam: Course, Fees, and Retakes
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Four Domains
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified COBRA Specialist (CCS) minimum passing score is 60% or better, per ECFC's own badge criteria.
- The exam has 75 multiple-choice questions and a three-hour limit that starts when you begin the exam.
- ECFC has not published a pass rate, a scored/unscored question split, or weighted domain percentages.
- A CCS retake is listed at $90, so a failed attempt is far cheaper than the original bundle.
The Number: 60% or Better
If you are searching for the Certified COBRA Specialist passing score, the answer is short: 60% or better. That figure comes directly from the criteria ECFC (the Employers Council on Flexible Compensation) attaches to the CCS credential, and it is the same threshold stated alongside the exam's other published parameters: 75 questions, completed within 3 hours.
The CCS is ECFC's foundational benefits-administration credential, designed for people who are new to COBRA or who want a structured refresher. It is not a medical-coding credential and has nothing to do with console-operator or other unrelated assessments that happen to share the "CCS" acronym. If you landed here looking for any of those, you want a different guide. If you want to know exactly what ECFC requires to award the Certified COBRA Specialist designation, read on.
What 60% Does and Doesn't Tell You
It is an individual score threshold, not a pass rate
The 60% figure is the score you must reach. It says nothing about how many candidates reach it. ECFC has not publicly disclosed a first-attempt or annual pass percentage for the CCS in any of the official designation, study-program, badge, or FAQ material. Anyone quoting a specific CCS pass rate is either guessing or borrowing a number from an unrelated credential. We keep the data picture honest on our CCS pass rate page.
Why you should not convert 60% into "45 correct answers"
It is tempting to multiply 75 by 0.60 and declare that you need 45 correct answers. Resist that. ECFC has not published whether every one of the 75 questions is scored, whether any items are weighted differently, or whether unscored items exist. Because the scoring mechanics are not documented, the arithmetic shortcut may or may not match how your result is actually calculated. The only safe reading is the one ECFC states: you need a score of 60% or better.
The practical consequence is simple. Treat 60% as the floor, not the target. Candidates who aim to just clear a threshold they cannot precisely translate into question counts leave themselves no margin for the questions they will inevitably find ambiguous. A realistic goal is to be comfortably above 60% on every practice set before you sit the real exam.
Exam Format at a Glance
Here is what is verified about the CCS exam, and what is explicitly not.
| Element | What ECFC Publishes | Not Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | 75 questions | Scored vs. unscored split |
| Time limit | 3 hours once the exam is started | Break policy |
| Question type | Multiple choice | Number of answer choices; multiple-response items |
| Passing score | 60% or better | Item weighting; exact correct-answer count |
| Retake fee | $90 (per ECFC's certification FAQ) | Retake waiting period |
| Delivery | Administered through ECFC's own online certification/course account process | Proctoring vendor, open/closed-book rules, ID checks |
Three hours for 75 multiple-choice questions averages out to roughly two and a half minutes per question, which is generous for a multiple-choice format. Time pressure is rarely the limiting factor on an exam like this; the quality of your COBRA knowledge is. Spend your preparation on content mastery rather than speed drills.
The Four Content Areas You'll Be Scored On
ECFC's CCS preparation is organized into four study-course sessions, and they map onto four content areas that cover the heart of COBRA administration. One caveat up front: ECFC has not published weighted percentages or an official exhaustive exam blueprint, so these four areas are the issuer-course topics that structure preparation, not a confirmed scoring breakdown. Do not assume equal weighting. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see our complete guide to the four CCS content areas.
Domain 1: COBRA Basics: Who Must Comply, Who Is Exempt and Who Is Eligible?
This is the foundation. Candidates must be able to determine whether an employer or plan is subject to COBRA at all, who falls outside its reach, and which individuals qualify for continuation coverage.
- Distinguishing covered employers and plans from exempt ones
- Identifying who counts as a qualified beneficiary
- Recognizing the qualifying events that trigger eligibility
Domain 2: COBRA Basics: Offering COBRA Coverage
Once eligibility is established, the administrator's job is to make a compliant offer. Expect scenario-style questions about the mechanics of extending coverage to the right people.
- The notice and election process from the administrator's perspective
- What coverage must be offered and to whom
- Handling situations where multiple beneficiaries are affected by one event
Domain 3: COBRA Basics: Premiums and Paying for COBRA
Money questions trip up many candidates because they combine rules with arithmetic-style reasoning. Know how premiums are set, who pays, and what happens when payment is late or incomplete.
- How COBRA premium amounts are determined
- Payment timing and the handling of late or partial payments
- Responsibilities of the employer versus the qualified beneficiary
Domain 4: COBRA and Consumer Driven Health Care (CDHC)
This area addresses how COBRA interacts with consumer-driven arrangements. It is the most specialized of the four and is where candidates who have only handled traditional medical plans often feel least prepared.
- How continuation rights apply to consumer-driven health care arrangements
- Where CDHC accounts and COBRA coverage intersect
- Recognizing which scenarios are CDHC-specific rather than standard medical continuation
Key Takeaway
Because question weighting is unpublished, prepare all four areas to a passing standard rather than betting on one heavily weighted domain. A weak spot in Domain 4 can cost you points that no amount of strength in Domain 1 will recover.
What ECFC Hasn't Published
A trustworthy guide to the passing score has to be as clear about gaps as it is about facts. From the official material reviewed, the following remain unconfirmed:
- Pass rate. No verified annual or first-attempt percentage exists in ECFC's designation, study-program, badge, or FAQ pages.
- Scored items. Whether all 75 questions count, or whether some are unscored, is not stated.
- Domain weights. No official percentages or dated content outline were found, and the four study sessions should not be treated as equal-weight exam sections.
- Exam version. No current exam-version number or change log was located. ECFC does list a 2026 CCS Certification Bootcamp, including a June 4, 2026 session, but that shows training activity, not a new exam revision.
- Exam-day rules. Open- versus closed-book policy, calculator permission, breaks, identity verification, accommodation procedures, and the retake waiting period were not verified.
The fact that the program is self-paced and sold through an online catalogue does not establish that the exam is unproctored, open book, or available on demand. Confirm the conditions with ECFC directly when you register, and see our CCS exam dates and scheduling guide for what we can and cannot say about timing.
The Path to the Exam: Course, Fees, and Retakes
You do not simply book a seat and show up. ECFC's published path ties the exam to a study course, and that shapes both your cost and your preparation.
The sequence ECFC describes
- Be employed in the benefits and compensation industry.
- Pay the course and exam fee.
- Complete the CCS Study Course.
- Pass the exam with a score of 60% or better.
No fixed degree, minimum years of experience, experience-hour threshold, or reference requirement was verified. The study course itself is described as four recorded courses with four accompanying presentations and a study guide, carrying six CCE Units. Those are CCE Units, not conventional CEUs, and should not be converted into an assumed number of contact hours. Our CCS requirements guide covers eligibility in more detail.
What it costs
The official CCS Study Course and Exam bundle is priced at $574 for ECFC members and $1,024 for nonmembers. These are combined training-and-exam prices, not standalone exam fees, and membership dues are separate. If you fail, ECFC's certification FAQ lists a $90 retake. ECFC's site returned an access error when we attempted to inspect live checkout, so verify the displayed bundle and retake price before you pay. Full cost context is on our CCS certification cost breakdown.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Four Domains
Since the weighting is unpublished, a sensible plan front-loads the foundation and saves the specialized material for when your base is solid. Here is one way to schedule it around the four ECFC sessions. For a fuller plan, use our CCS study guide.
Domain 1: Compliance, Exemptions, and Eligibility
- Work through the first recorded course and presentation
- Build a decision path: covered employer, then qualifying event, then qualified beneficiary
Domain 2: Offering Coverage
- Study the offer process end to end
- Practice scenarios where one event affects several beneficiaries
Domain 3: Premiums and Payment
- Review how premiums are set and paid
- Drill late and partial payment situations, where candidates often slip
Domain 4: CDHC, Then Full Review
- Give the CDHC material dedicated attention since it is the most specialized
- Finish with mixed practice sets and revisit any domain scoring below your comfort level
Once you have worked through the course material, test yourself under realistic conditions with the questions on our CCS practice test site. Aim to score well above 60% consistently across all four areas, not just on your favorites.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
Clearing the 60% threshold earns you a credential that is valid for three years (36 months) from the certification date. ECFC hosts a digital badge for the credential through Credly, which you can use on professional profiles.
Renewal is a separate requirement from initial certification. The CCS renewal table calls for four continuing-education units and a fee of $75 for members or $150 for nonmembers, along with supporting continuing-education documentation for the applicable cycle. Do not assume the six CCE Units you earned through the study course roll over to satisfy renewal, and do not interpret four units as 40 classroom hours. Earning the credential is one milestone; keeping it is another.
If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our analyses of whether the CCS is worth it and the CCS salary picture take a closer look.
Key Takeaway
Plan for renewal from day one. Keep records of qualifying continuing education throughout your three-year cycle so the four-unit requirement and documentation are straightforward when the time comes.
Frequently Asked Questions
ECFC's badge criteria state a passing score of 60% or better. The exam consists of 75 multiple-choice questions to be completed within 3 hours.
ECFC has not published whether all 75 questions are scored or whether items are weighted differently, so an exact count of correct answers cannot be confirmed. The verified standard is a score of 60% or better.
ECFC has not publicly disclosed a pass rate for the Certified COBRA Specialist exam in the material reviewed. Any specific percentage you encounter is unverified and may belong to a different credential that shares the CCS acronym.
ECFC's certification FAQ lists a $90 retake fee for the CCS. Because live checkout could not be inspected, confirm the current retake price with ECFC before purchasing.
The credential is valid for three years, or 36 months, from the certification date. Renewal requires four continuing-education units plus a $75 member or $150 nonmember fee, along with supporting documentation.